Subscribe Here

Apr 17, 2018

When Karnataka Election 2018 Date - Answered Here!

This article will help you know that Karnataka election 2018 date, with latest updates on this assembly election this year.

When Karnataka Election 2018 Date

Karnataka Assembly Election 2018 Pre Poll Survey, video by Public TV

The election of Karnataka will be held on 12 May 2018 in all 224 (two hundred twenty-four) constituencies of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

The calculating of votes and declaration of result will take place on 15 May 2018 which is Tuesday.

So these three days will decide the next government of Karnataka

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has announced dates for Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018. 

So ECI has confirmed that Karnataka polls will take place on May 12, and the votes will be counted on May 15.

Om Prakash Rawat, who is the head of the Electoral Commission (CEC), announced that the elections to the Karnataka Assembly would be held at 12th May 2018 with final results outcome on 15 May 2018.

Then the last date for nominations for Karnataka Polls 2018 will be April 24th.

Follow Us: Share Market Live

If candidates wish to withdraw their nominations, the deadline for nomination is April 27th.

As the highly electrifying electoral campaigns in the state increase, we look at what happened in Karnataka during the last Assembly elections in 2013.

Sr. No#
Political Parties
Indian National Congress+ (INC)
Janata Dal-Secular+ (JDS)
Bharatiya Janata Party+ (BJP)
Seats Won (2013)
Seats Before (2008)
Seat Change
Vote Share
(in Percent)
Vote Swing
(in Percent)
+ (1.8%)
+ (1.1%)
- (13.9%)

Karnataka Election 2018 Date

Many political parties contested the elections, 59 to be precise; with Independents being the 60th party interested. The five main political parties that participated in the elections were the Congress, BJP, Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S), B.S. Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP) of Yeddyurappa, and Badavara Shramikara Raitara Congress Party (BSRCP) of B. Sriramulu.

The Legislative Assembly of Karnataka comprises 224 seats. For a party to form the government in the House, it takes a total of 113 seats for the majority.

The elections to the 2013 Karnataka Assembly were held in a single phase on May 5th. There was a total of 50,446 polling stations across the state.

The electorate of Karnataka at that time was composed of 4.36 million voters, whose turnout was 70.23%. Results for the same were reported on May 8.

It was the Indian National Congress (Congress) that won the extremely controversial elections of the State Assembly in 2013.

The Congress Party fought in the elections under the leadership of Siddaramaiah, who later became the minister chief of Karnataka.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata (BJP) ruling government faced a defeat when the party fell to third place, in terms of votes, when election results were known.

With a huge amount of seats (122) to its credit, Congress returned to power in the state, alone, after an interval of 9 years.

Karnataka Election Results 2013

Quick facts about Karnataka election results 2013:

Sri Siddaramaiah (India National Congress) was elected as Chief Minister of Karnataka
Indian National Congress won 122 of 224 seats which boosted the confidence of Congress party in 2013 election results

Name of the Party
Number of Seats
Indian National Congress (INC)
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Badavara Shramikara Raitara Congress Party (BSRCP)
Karnataka Jantha Paksha (KJP)
Janata Dal (Secular) JD(S)
Karnataka Makkala Paksha (KMP)
Samajwadi Party (SP)
Sarvodaya Karnataka Paksha (SKP)
Independent (IND)

Why the BJP didn’t achieve the majority in 2013 Assembly Elections?

One of the main reasons for the defeat of the BJP in the elections was the internal struggle between the leaders of the major parties.

In addition, some scams broke out during the ruling BJP, which saw Prime Minister BS Yeddyurappa resign in 2012.

During his five years in power, the party had to appoint three prime ministers.

The main political parties have already started their high-profile campaigns in the state.

Rahul Gandhi of Congress and Amit Shah of BJP are at the forefront and teasing each other during their recent campaigns.

It will be an interesting battle between the two main national parties.

Where the Congress will seek to lay the groundwork for its preparations for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections with a win, while the BJP would seek to set foot in a southern state before the electoral battle in 2019.

With the party workers already committed and the dates announced for the Karnataka Assembly elections in 2018.

It will be interesting to see if Congress can save its party image in the political arena or if the BJP will take over power in the state.

next karnataka assembly elections, when is karnataka election 2018, karnataka election 2018 month, mla election in karnataka 2018, karnataka election date, karnataka legislative assembly election, 2018 start date, karnataka election 2018 survey, karnataka assembly elections 2013

No comments:

Post a Comment